On Friday December 9th, 2011; I was kidnapped.


الترجمة باللغة العربية في أخر الصفحة

On Friday December 9th ,2011 I was kidnapped , assaulted and dumped on the highway for no apparent reason other than being a member of the No military trials for civilians group and here is my recount of what happened:

  1. 21:40 I was on my way home after meeting a friend , I was standing on the corniche road almost 300 meters away from the Alexandria Library ( Bibliotheque Alexandrina) when a small micro-bus came closer and asked about my destination , I thought it was a normal one ,so I just said where I was heading and got in.
  2. There were two men in it other than the driver and some stuff was on the seats leaving the back seat to be the only convenient place for me to sit.
  3. I asked how much is the fair , he replied and I paid
  4. Then all of a sudden it took a turn at Suez Canal tunnel, claiming that there was an accident on the corniche road and a consequent traffic jam that he wanted to avoid.
  5. One of the two guys , came back and in a moment threw himself on me ,while the other changed his place so that I got cornered at the back of the vehicle .
  6. The one –literally- lying on me then had a knife that I noticed in one of his hands  while the other was just pushing me to the side.
  7. By then I was convinced that it is a random mugging approach , when the guy asked me my name , so I told him another name , that was when he said , No , your name is Zeyad and we know you.
  8. Unable to move at all , the first guy started kissing my face , then started saying “you (in plural form) are the reason my brother is locked up in prison and the other guy said that we also ruined the life of his cousin as well . I asked who the “we” you are talking about and that I am in no position to lock anyone up.
  9. The one on me , brought out his knife ,put it on my neck and said that he will slaughter me and throw my body somewhere , to which I replied that I have no problem at all getting killed on the contrary it will the perfect timing for me to die.

      10. He grabbed my hair saying that I am too “pretty”  to die and started harassing me in a sexual way- at this point- his position changed and I was able to start resisting him , so I started pushing him and tried to punch him , this is when the other guy became on me as well at the corner of the vehicle .

      11. One of them started to get out all of my belongings while the other was  grabbing my genitals so I wasn’t able to exert any movement.

      12. I told him now you got everything I have , you should just let me go. He promised to let me go 4 times and changed his mind until finally both of them backed off , one of them gave me 5 pounds and the door was opened , so I jumped into the darkness outside then my bag was thrown out after me, with nothing missing but the No military trials for civilians group hotline ,which I’ve been in charge of since the group started in Alexandria  few months ago.

     13. In the bag there was the #NoMilTrials phone , which is worth around 50 pounds maximum , next to my blackberry, ipod , a pierre cardin silver keychain among other things that are obviously more expensive than the nomiltrials phone.

    14. I was let out in a dark spot on what I later knew was the high way , where I had to run for sometime to be in a somehow lit location , so my friends who I called can come and pick me up

15. I was a mess .

 Reasons I believe it wasn’t random and that it was intended from some entity to send us a message:

  1. They knew my name
  2. They only took the nomiltrials phone , they even left my wallet untouched, although I have no idea how did they know which device it was, as there was my phone that they didn’t take.
  3. Over the past few days I was receiving fishy calls on the nomiltrials line , where people actually knew that I am the one in charge of it and called me by the name.
  4. I am not the first one of the group to go through an experience like that
  5. For over a month I have been receiving threats on the nomiltrials line that I’ve always disregarded as bullshit.

No matter what they do I am sure that we will continue our fight against injustice and will eventually win our battle against SCAF at al.  We will celebrate the freedom of  the unjustly detained friends , brothers and sisters ,the freedom of our country and the ownership of our destiny.

Disclaimer: the whole incidence for me is still a bit blurry so these are the important things of what I recall , if you think it is beneficial to copy , translate or share it somewhere , feel free to do it.

#DownWithTheMilitaryJunta , #NoSCAF and definitely no Military trials for civilians 

يوم الجمعة 9 ديسمبر 2011 تم اختطافي

في يوم الجمعة 9 ديسمبر 2011 تم اختطافي و التعدي علي و تركي مرمياً على جانب الطريق السريع، ليس لأي سبب غير كوني عضو مجموعة “لا للمحاكمات العسكرية للمدنيين”، و هذه شهادتي لما حدث:

  1. في الساعة 21:40 كنت في طريقي إلى البيت بعد مقابلة صديق، واقفاً على طريق الكورنيش على بعد 300 متر من مكتبة الإسكندرية. أتت سيارة ميكروباص و سألني السائق عن مكان توجهي. ظننت أنها سيارة أجرة عادية فرديت عليه و ركبت.
  2. كان هناك رجلين مع السائق، بالإضافة إلى بعض الأشياء الموجودة على المقاعد، بحيث يكون المكان الوحيد المتوفر للجلوس هو المقعد الخلفي.
  3. سألت عن الأجرة و دفعت.
  4. فجأة انعطف السائق إلى طريق جسر السويس، مدعياً أن طريق الكورنيش مزدحماً لوجود حادث.
  5. قام أحد الشخصين الآخرين بالقدوم إلى الخلف و ألقى بنفسه علي، أثناء تغيير الآخر لمكانه بحيث تم حجزي في الركن الخلفي للسيارة.
  6. رأيت سكيناً في يد الشخص الذي ألقى نفسه علي، و كان يدفعني بيده الأخرى إلى جانب السيارة.
  7. وقتها كنت أظن أنها عملية سرقة عشوائية، حتى سألني عن اسمي. رديت باسم آخر، فقال: “لا، اسمك زياد و احنا عارفينك”.
  8. كنت عاجزاً عن الحركة تماماً حين قام الشخص الأول بتقبيل وجهي. قال “أننا” السبب في حبس أخيه، و قال الآخر “أننا” أيضاً السبب في تدمير حياة ابن خالته. سألتهما من “نكون” و قلت أني لست بقادر على “حبس” أي شخص.
  9. أخرج الشخص الذي يجلس فوقي سكينه و وضعها على رقبتي و هدد بذبحي و إلقائي في أي مكان، فرديت بأنه لا مشكلة أبداً لدي في أن أقتل؛ بل بالعكس فهو توقيت مثالي للموت.
  10. أمسك شعري قائلاً بأني “أجمل” من أن أقتل و ظل يتحرش بي جنسياً. حينها تغير وضعه و أصبحت قادراً على مقاومته، فظللت أحاول دفعه و لكمه، فتحرك الشخص الآخر ليصبح أيضاً فوقي في ركن السيارة.
  11. قام أحدهما بإخراج كل متعلقاتي أثناء قيام الآخر بالإمساك بأعضائي التناسلية، فلم تكن باستطاعتي الحركة.
  12. أخبرته أن بحوزته كل ما أملك، فالأحرى به أن يتركني. وعدني بأن يطلق سراحي 4 مرات و غير رأيه، حتى تركاني أخيراً. أعطاني أحدهما 5 جنيهات و فتح الباب، فقفزت و تم إلقاء حقيبتي ورائي، لا ينقصها شئ سوى هاتف مجموعة “لا للمحاكمات العسكرية للمدنيين” و الذي كنت مسئولاً عنه منذ تكوين المجموعة في الإسكندرية منذ بضعة شهور.
  13. احتوت الحقيبة على الهاتف الذي لا يتعدى ثمنه الخمسين جنيهاً، بالإضافة إلى هاتفي الشخصي البلاك بيري، و جهاز الآي-بود الخاص بي، و سلسلة مفاتيح بيير كاردان، بالإضافة إلى أشياء أخرى واضح أنها أغلى من هاتف المجموعة.
  14. تركوني في مكان مظلم تبين لي فيما بعد أنه الطريق السريع، بعد أن كان علي الركض لبعض الوقت حتى أصل لمكان مضاء حتى يتمكن أصدقائي من اصطحابي.
  15. كنت في حالة يرثى لها.

أسباب اقتناعي بأن هذا لم يكن عشوائياً و أنه كان بقصد ترك رسالة لنا من كيان ما:                                      

  1. عرفوا اسمي.
  2. أخذوا فقط هاتف المجموعة، حتى لم يمسوا محفظتي. مع العلم أني لم أقل لهم أي من الهاتفين هو الخاص بالمجموعة.
  3. كنت أتلقى مكالمات مريبة على مدار الأيام الأخيرة على هاتف المجموعة، عرف فيها المتصل اسمي و أني أنا المسئول عن الهاتف.
  4. لست أول من يمر بتجربة كهذه من المجموعة  .
  5. ظللت أتلقى مكالمات تهديد على هاتف المجموعة لأكثر من شهر، و لكني دائماً ما كنت أختار تجاهلها.

مهما فعلوا فأنا على اقتناع أننا سنواصل معركتنا مع الظلم و أننا سننتصر في النهاية على المجلس العسكري. سنحتفل بحرية الأصدقاء و الإخوة و الأخوات المسجونين ظلماً، و بحرية بلادنا، و بملكية مصيرنا.

ملحوظة: الحادث لا يزال غير واضح بالنسبة لي، فهذه الأحداث أهم ما وقع. إذا رأيت أنها ستكون مفيدة إذا نقلت، أو ترجمت، أو نشرت، فافعل ما شئت.

يسقط حكم العسكر، يسقط المجلس العسكري، و بكل تأكيد: لا للمحاكمات العسكرية للمدنيين


28 thoughts on “On Friday December 9th, 2011; I was kidnapped.

  1. 3agala says:

    Simply ur a hero as anyone in the #noMilTrial group , the fight will continue and the #Scaf will fall down sooner or later , just check khaled alaa seif’s picture and u’ll see what I mean by Hope

  2. Anonymous says:

    Thanks Allah you are ok, but, there is something I do not understand?? is there still Military Trials?? didn’t head of SCAF, Mosheer Tantawy, ordered to transfer it all to normal trials?? as he did with Alla abdel Fattah??

  3. Anonymous says:

    Whoa! It’s crazy how little things managed to change!

    I probably don’t need to be giving you advice, but it’s much better to walk in groups of 3 or more (especially since you’re planning to continue the opposition).

  4. amorshedy says:

    Thanks Allah you are ok, but, there is something I do not understand?? is there still Military Trials?? didn’t head of SCAF, Mosheer Tantawy, ordered to transfer it all to normal trials?? as he did with Alla abdel Fattah??

  5. Amr El-Shawarby says:

    The obvious violation of the most primitive human rights and the meticulous mischievous clandestine has certain names written all over it.

  6. Meem says:

    Whoa! It’s crazy how little things have managed to change!

    It makes you wonder whether our prisons have the capacity to accept the huge amount of people that need to be locked up before we can start calling this country ‘clean’

    I’m probably stating the obvious, but it’s much better to walk in groups of 3 or more (especially since you’re planning to continue the opposition).

    7amdilla 3alsalama & Stay safe

  7. Mohamed El Sheikh says:

    Ziad ana 2a3rrafak men zamaan bas enaharda enta kebert fi nazari awi we 3amalt 7aga kebeera awi lel balad ana we nas ketewr zaaey ma3amlohaash. Am proud of u . We matez3alesh 7a2ak 7aygeelak isa wana motadamen ma3aak we 7angeeb el kelab dol isa

  8. menna says:

    u r a hero,be strong,and take care of yourself.rbna m3ak bgad.
    i published your story in many places.7ngblak 7a2ak f yom mn el ayam mn el nas dy.

    يسقط يسقط حكم العسكر

  9. Anonymous says:

    You are fortunate to have survived this mishap. Hamdullillah 3ala salamtak wi rabina yostorha ma3ak.

    يسقط يسقط حكم العسكر

  10. Malak says:

    ربنا معاكم ينصركم و إن شاء الله هتنسى أذى التجربة دي بسرعة و يبقالك بس القوة اللي تكمل بيها
    We will keep spreadinh the word

  11. Sabry khaled says:

    هم إزاي بالغباء ده !! امتى النظام الغبي هيفهم إن الجيل ده مش بتنفع معاه الطريقة دي ! .. كل حاجة من دول بتزيدنا قوة
    النصر قادم

  12. Mohamed Elsayed Anany says:

    Zeyad becareful and dont put yourself in danger especially in this period we are in , and you can express yourself anonymously in portests in alex or tahrir square in cairo but not personally so as not to be targeted and put yourself in danger and let me tell you that away from this many crimes and killings to people i know are happening especially with no police present so please be careful .

  13. Anonymous says:

    Bla bla bla….
    Every 3ayak matny became a hero in Egypt!
    Tomorrow part II with another Ziad kidnaped by aliens
    Wake up ba2a!!!! Wake up and stop being so darn stupid!!!!!!

  14. wadingacross says:

    I’m a bit fuzzy on a couple of things. Were you looking for a ride in the first place? The way you wrote it sounds as if you were just having a conversation with a passerby… but then you willingly get in! As with another commenter, maybe you need to begin walking in groups wherever you go.

    On a tangential note, with the political rise of the Brotherhood, the military is going to be the least of your worries long term. You may eventually win your struggle against the military, but it’ll just be replaced with the Brotherhood.

    Egypt and much of the Middle East is becoming Islamicized – fundamentalized. The Arab Spring was a farce. It’s an Arab Fall. .

  15. Walid says:

    Sabry Khaled said: “هم إزاي بالغباء ده”…

    as I don’t believe they are that stupid… I’m also sorry to say that I can’t buy te story… I know I’m opening fire here but couldn’t keep the word. Let alone the bugs in teh story, from what I learnt it qualifys to be a “good and fast spreading rumor”…

  16. Fateimad says:

    لم اعد قلقه ممايحدث طالت قصرت النصر آت من عند الله وان شاء الله الفرج قريب ومصر ان شاء الله منصوره كلها بولادها بشعبها وجيشها وشرطتها

  17. Anonymous says:

    rabena ma3ak isA… plz be strong and pass it… I know what u r feeling now… but please don’t be depressed… and cheer up u r a hero

Leave a comment